Happy Paddy’s Day

I had quite a happy St Patrick’s Day..and i didn’t down seventeen pints of Guinness or a bottle and a half of Irish whiskey (traditional forms of “celebrating” the day in Éireann)..

Hermana Menor cornice with my ski tracks just about visible

Hermana Menor cornice with my ski tracks just about visible (top, leftish, hit by the sun)

No, i just got my skis out and downed a cornice on my local mountain a couple of times. Hardly a typical Irish way to celebrate(!)..and maybe not such a big deal but this is the same spot where i had the accident last year that threatened to put an end to my skiing shenanigans*. Certainly i thought it unlikely even up to a month ago that i’d be doing much in the way of jumping off cornices on skis again..just goes to show, you never really know. Truth be told, i was dropping in more than jumping..but i’m happy enough with myself one way or another!

*shenanigans: colloquial American English with a hint of Irish in it, meaning mischief, playing pranks or tricks, playing around.

About coldspringdays

Éireannach is ea mé, i mo chonaí insan Spáinn. Rugadh mé i lár na tuaithe, ar feadh blianta bhí mé ag teitheadh uaithi, i bhfad as an tuath, ach sa deireadh d'fhill mé, ar ais go dtí an tuath.. An Irishman am I, settled in Spain. Born was I in the middle of the country, for years I ran from it, far from the country, but in the end I returned, back to the country..
This entry was posted in language, ski, snow and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

